Holywar Leadwerks+Blitz vs Leadwerks+C :)

VeTaL

Was trying to make small game prototype, and Aily adviced me to try Leadwerks+Blitz.

Well, what i can say... I used it for some days, but i actually dont see many pros, and lots of cons.

Pros:

+ native to Leadwerks language (is it actually a positive side for a small prototype?)

Cons:

- Stupid BlitzMax IDE. I'm not talking about visualizing of code structure (like in MVS 2010 ) or even intellisense (VA, or at least, build-in into MVS)... i just cant compile my project by pressing 1 key on keyboard. Usually i need to click and activate main file (if i was working in included file) and press "Build and run" button by my mouse.

- No color shemes in IDE. Maybe its not the largest cons, but i'm a programmer, not designer... And i would like to select my favorite color sheme among some avaivable scenes, not to create own.

- No normal search. Ctrl+F is piece of sh*t, but not a useable serach.

- Compilation time is quite long even on simple project.

- I have only framework+lua, but still faced some stupid problems (like this for enabling lua, and this while trying to move framework camera)

- Long time of font loading (it stops for about 5 seconds on the line "Loading texture "incbin::Arial9.dds"...")

- Dynamic typisation. It takes me about an hour to guess that Function is not a Method, and it cant access to private field, and it creates new variable each time. (well, maybe, some guys would claim that it is positive, but not at my experience :) )

- Ugly comments, started with " ' ". Or with "Rem/EndRem". And "EndFunction" is also too long in comparing with "}"

- Maybe more will appear in a short time.

I repeat, that i was trying to use it just for some days, so i hope that someone would some positive arguments :D

Working on LeaFAQ :)

Ah yes, debugger is also a hell. :)