Deciding on an Engine...

Guest Adam Zeliasz

Guest Adam Zeliasz

I've been playing around with Unity and Torque 3D for a while now. Someone mentioned this engine so I thought I would post to get some user feeedback. My background is in 3D modeling and animation. I'm looking to develop a demo of an online 1st person shooter with vehicles for external funding. I'm fresh to programming, so I'm looking for an engine that has some sort of scripting capabilities rather than get into the source and write code. My target audience is specific to newer systems, so ideally I would like to work with the latest shaders/features that are out.

Torque 3D's feature list is great including their online multiplayer capabilities, but their documentation/tutorials is lacking or non-existent.

Unity seems very easy to use for artists due to their scripting, but I have a feeling that their engine is designed to target older systems, so the latest shaders/FX need to be coded. I'm also not comfortable with their networking components. But there user base/forum is second to none. People are very eager to help and you can usually get solutions or advice quickly.

How does everyone feel about Leadwerks vs. the others? I'm looking for some incite as far as its networking capabilities, scripting and tutorials to get me up to speed with achieving my objective. I just started looking into this engine so I will be playing around with the demo and reading the documentation myself, but I thought I could get some constructive advice/suggestions in the meantime.

Also how many developers are actually working on the engine? I'm trying to get an idea of the speed of updates and new features in the future.

Thanks!

so, If you are fresh to programming :huh: quickly forget Torgue3d .. It's pretty messy code in my opinion. Very messy... and again, very messy, lol.