Simple network example

Josh

This is a minimal example showing how a program can communicate. From here, you can imagine how chatting could work, and then how keyboard input could be used to control a player over a network. If the network commands are not found, just run the updater.

1. Drag server.lua onto engine.exe.

2. Draw client.lua onto engine.exe.

I will continue with this, but I hope the community will jump in, too, so we can make a basic program. I will admit I am not an expert at networking. But there's not really that much going on in a networked game, because the server generally controls everything, and the clients just provide keyboard input and get back positions and other information.

simplenetwork.zip

• Upvote 2

My job is to make tools you love, with the features you want, and performance you can't live without.

Mack look under "Attached File(s)" in the lead post ... sheeesh :D n00b... lol

AMD Bulldozer FX-4 Quad Core 4100 Black Edition

2 x 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz Memory

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 550 Ti OC 1024MB GDDR5

Windows 7 Home 64 bit

BlitzMax 1.50 • Lua 5.1 MaxGUI 1.41 • UU3D Pro • MessiahStudio Pro • Silo Pro

3D Coat • ShaderMap Pro • Hexagon 2 • Photoshop, Gimp & Paint.NET

LE 2.5/3.4 • Skyline UE4 • CE3 SDK • Unity 5 • Esenthel Engine 2.0

Marleys Ghost's YouTube Channel Marleys Ghost's Blog

"I used to be alive like you .... then I took an arrow to the head"

This is a cool tutorial. I'm going to play around with making a network object that you can drag into your scene and then specify if it's client/server and have some other settings. Thanks for the start!

But there's not really that much going on in a networked game, because the server generally controls everything, and the clients just provide keyboard input and get back positions and other information.