Help me...

Chiblue

My story is, I have been using DBPro for a few months and got relatively far in developing a game concept, but then just when I start refining the game and interface I run into several bugs in the language and plugins, so I move to gdk thinking how bad can that be given the ms IDE and compiler. Well now I am running into things within plugins that don't work like Ray cast in dark physics to mention one.

So here I am at a crossroads of sorts I feel that having to code work arounds for bug in plugins that I have to pay for is unacceptable so this is my question. If I move to leadwerks engine does it work as advertised? the $200 is not the issue I just don't want to throw more money into another bunch of problems.. Your candre would be appreciated.

If it's not Tactical realism then you are just playing..

So far I'm pretty happy w/ LeadWerks. Like all engines it has some issues, but w/o knowing exactly what you need I can say if they'd affect you. Type of game, graphics quality required, target system specs, features needed, etc would all be helpful to give you useful feedback. You'll find the people here are pretty honest about both the advantages and drawbacks of LeadWerks vs other engines.

As far as graphics quality goes, LeadWerks is probably the best you'll find in an Indy engine, and better than a lot of higher priced commercial engines. The only things it's missing right now is MSAA and GI, but Josh is working on both of those so they might be available by the time you're ready to launch. Its use of instancing can help give a significant performance boost but can make it a little harder to do some things. This might be addressed soon as well.