3d Artist Needs Help - Editor won't start

jesblood

Hi all.

I'm totally new to this engine and I'm lost as to why it won't run when I double click the editor icon. I've tried updating all my system files and downloading the latest drivers for my laptop and Desktop PC and still no dice. The files install well enough but when I go to active the editor the random load up picture shows up and then nothing. It just disappears. Now when I go into the SDK folder and I double click the material editor or the model editor these initialize, just not the main editor.exe file. And even when the model editor is active I tried loading one of my models (a dae file) and it says failed to load. I starting to wonder if it's my system configuration. I don't know. Does anyone have any clue as to what is wrong.

Here are my system specs:

Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600

Brand: Lenovo Think-pad T61p

Video Card: Nvidia Quadro FX 570 Mobile

Post the editor.log file.

You can load only gmf files. You can use various exporters like 3DSMax, Maya, UU3D, fbx2gmf.exe, etc... to convert your models to gmf.

Ryzen 9 RX 6800M ■ 16GB XF8 Windows 11 ■
Ultra ■ LE 2.53DWS 5.6  Reaper ■ C/C++ C# ■ Fortran 2008 ■ Story ■
■ Homepage: https://canardia.com ■

No, you can't update Lenovo ThinkPad T61p drivers from www.nvidia.com, but you must update them from www.lenovo.com; the newest drivers support even OpenGL 3.2.

The T61p works fine with LE (I have one too), and its nVidia FX570M is amazingly powerful. It's much faster than the 8600M in my Asus laptop, and only slightly slower than my 8800 GTS 640MB.

Hey Lumooja,

Thanks bro. You were totally right. I didn't know that Lenovo's were so touchy that you have to go to the Lenovo site to get your updates. That's kinda strange. I went to the Nvdia site and installed the lastest drivers and that did squat! Now everything is working perfectly! Thanks abunch bro. God Bless.