Terrain Texture

Guest Houdini

Guest Houdini

My last post for awhile I promise. I have been in and out of forums, tutorials, and everything else the past few days and I still cannot figure out why I cant add texture to my terrain. I am running Vista64, Mobile Intel® 965 Express Chipset for video card if it helps. I have downloaded textures in both jpeg and bmp, but only a small portion of them show in the browser, and even fewer show on the object,(just a plain old box). They usually show up gray. As far as the terrain goes, I have followed the manuel many times and cant seem to get it. My exact actions for the terrain after opening the program are terrain editor-->new-->256x256-->texture category-->texture-->apply. Then nothing happens. I can alter the terrain fine, and every once in awhile I get a texture to show up on a box, but that is it. I hope I am just a newbie and am missing a step or something, but anyway if anyone has any idea what I am talking please respond! This is really giving me a bad weekend thus far...

EDIT - I ran it on my HP which runs XP and it is perfect...do I need to do something different for Vista? I have already disabled UAC so I know its not an administrative issue.

When you first create the terrain (with the Terrain Editing window open) it creates a default base layer for you and this normally is automatically assigned the currently selected texture in the texture dropdown in the main 3DWS window. If you change the texture whilst the Terrain Editing window is still open the texture on the terrain should change too.