About Scripts

Skully

I'm a complete newby with leadwerks but the concept of the scripting language poses an interesting option in a game I'm currently creating a design doc for... my question is do scripts run in parallel or sequentially? If one object has a huge script and another a small one will the whole huge script run (until its exited) as well as the whole small one or does it thread them?

Context: If two objects have script that turns them to point at each other, but one script is inefficiently written (extra instructions) will the "lean" script object start turning first?

They run sequentially, and each script should not take more than 0.15ms to run, since 15ms is 60 FPS, so with 0.15ms you can have 100 scripts running at 60 FPS, but since the rendering takes time also, you could still run 50 scripts (30 FPS cost).

You can use the Millisecs() command to measure the time a script runs, and make some alert if a script runs longer than you want.

Ryzen 9 RX 6800M ■ 16GB XF8 Windows 11 ■
Ultra ■ LE 2.53DWS 5.6  Reaper ■ C/C++ C# ■ Fortran 2008 ■ Story ■
■ Homepage: https://canardia.com ■

They run sequentially, and each script should not take more than 0.15ms to run, since 15ms is 60 FPS, so with 0.15ms you can have 100 scripts running at 60 FPS, but since the rendering takes time also, you could still run 50 scripts (30 FPS cost).

You can use the Millisecs() command to measure the time a script runs, and make some alert if a script runs longer than you want.

Nice to know thanks... I was really hoping the scripts ran in parallel... allocating a certain amount of system resource to progressively solve them. I'm sure that would be a nightmare in terms of inter-process communication goes lol... one can dream ;)