FBX from 3D Studio Max -> Leadwerks -> Animation seq.

GSFC_1

Hey guys, I guess this topic gets tagged a lot, but i am a newb and I cannot seem to get this figured out.

I have been using 3D Studio MAx since 3.5 (1995 or so) but never really got into programming or games engines. i know the software VERY well, but i guess i may be missing some things here.

My issue is:

I want to make some basic animated scenery models for my scene. So, I made a cylinder with a rotating billboard on top. I know that the geometry can be animated in leardwerks, thats not the point of this post. I want to have certain things animated in the FBX file.

When I export a model from 3d studio to FBX format, the model comes in fine, but there are no keyframes in the animation tab on the model viewer.

I have included both my export from max and the max file i was working with.

sensor_bot.zip

sensor bot.FBX

I haven't used 3ds Max for a while now, but I remember there was a setting in the export popup to include animations. Might be a good idea to check those export settings to make sure you haven't missed anything.

I definately did that, checked all my settings multiple times. It just does not seem to embed it? Anyone else with this problem?

Leadwerks animates using skinned models via bones. I'm pretty sure it doesn't support keyframe animation. You would need to use the Skin modifier to attach and animate bones on a model.