Horizontal Hinges

BrokenPillar

Hello all,

I am new to the forums, but have been playing around with Leadwerks for about 6 months or so. My experience is in 3D modeling, texture creation, and world building, but I am trying to learn a little about Lua scripting. My capabilities are pretty much limited to taking existing examples, picking them apart, splicing them together, and tweaking them to try and achieve the result I am going for.

I recently started playing around with hinges and have had pretty much been able to figure them out with the locker example except for one problem. Right now, anytime I place a hinge that runs vertically (like a door) it works great. When I place one horizontally however, I run into a problem (like an oven door, or a toilet seat). In this case, the hinge only works correctly when the model is aligned to the hinge axis. If I rotate the model, the door rotates with it, but the hinge still tries to rotate toward the global hinge axis. Here is my lua script:

require("scripts/class")

local class=CreateClass(...)

function class:CreateObject(model)
local object=self.super:CreateObject(model)

function object:ClearJoint()
	if self.door~=nil then
		self.door:Free()
		self.door=nil
		self.joint=nil
	end
end

function object:UpdateJoint()
	self:ClearJoint()
	if self.hinge~=nil then
		self.door=LoadModel("abstract::x_stove_01_Door01.gmf")
		self.door:SetPosition( self.hinge:GetPosition(1) )
		self.door:SetRotation( self.model.rotation )
		self.door:SetMass(1)
		self.joint = CreateJointHinge( self.model, self.door,self.door:GetPosition(1), Vec3(1,0,0) )
		self.joint:SetLimits(0,60)
		self.door:SetCollisionType(COLLISION_PROP)
	end
end

function object:Reset()
	self:UpdateJoint()
end

function object:Free(model)
	self.super:Free()
end

function object:Init()
	self.model:SetCollisionType(COLLISION_PROP)
	self.hinge=self.model:FindChild("doorhinge")
	self:UpdateJoint()
end

object:Init()
end