UserData C++

smashthewindow

Okay, I need some help in C++...

I'm just a hobby programmer so I'm not that good.

I've a basic class called "Object", and every class I made inherits from that object:

class Object {
public:
	TEntity _entity;
	TVec3	_abspos;

Object( TEntity entity_ = NULL ) {
		if( entity_ != NULL ) {
			_abspos = EntityPosition( entity_, 1 );
			FreeEntity(entity_);
		}
		_entity = CreatePivot();
		SetEntityUserData( _entity, (byte*)this ); //take notice in this part...
		HideEntity(_entity);
	}
};

and of the callback function:

void _stdcall UpdateControllerCallback( TEntity entity ) {
	Controller* e = (Controller*)GetEntityUserData(entity);
	e->UpdateBall();
}

void Controller::UpdateBall() {	
	PositionEntity( _campivot, EntityPosition(_ballmesh,1) );
}

Of course, controller inherits from Object class and yes, Object's constructor is called.

But that PositionEntity() throws an exception if I run it at VS2010 (_campivot is a bad pointer...)

I know this is noob question, but I can't figure it out after hours of searching.

Can anyone help me?

EDIT: Basically, I'm asking if anyone knows what the hell is wrong with UserData setting/retrieving...

The pointer I get from GetUserData() func seems to be +4 bits from the original location.

I'm using Leadwerks 2.5 by the way, straight from the Updator.

Blog & Portfolio

Current project: moon.chase.star

So you are stepping through this and e->UpdateBall() makes it into your Controller::UpdateBall() and you are seeing _campivot as a bad pointer is that right?

I don't see where _campivot is being created in your code above. Also not seeing where the callback is setup above. Can you show that. Also I assume you are creating a pointer to Controller like:

Object* obj1 = new Controller(); ??

So you are stepping through this and e->UpdateBall() makes it into your Controller::UpdateBall() and you are seeing _campivot as a bad pointer is that right?