Question About Installing A Motherboard.

Davaris

I have a question for the hardware gurus. I have a Cooler Master CM 690 case and I have hooked everything up, except for the front panel's HDD lights and the buttons. The problem I am having is I don't know which are the earth wires, because the manual doesn't mention colours. All of the pairs of wires with earths on them come in different colours from red, blue, yellow etc, but the commonality they all have is a white wire to go with a coloured one. So at this point I'm thinking the earth wire is the white wire. Am I right? What if I am wrong? Will I fry my lights and buttons if the wires are in the wrong slots, or will they just fail to work?

BTW

I just noticed the Hardware Discussion forum was missing, when I needed to ask a question about my PC, so I hope it comes back.

Win 7 Pro 64 bit

AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz

GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+

4 GB RAM

And dont do what I did, plug a USB cable into the Firewire header blink.gif

"Hey this mouse is broken, I'll try this one...hmmm, this mouse is broken too, what about this one....hey, all these mice are broken...what are the odds of .... uh oh." (different voltages, stupid m/b had same pin layout for each).

6600 2.4G / GTX 460 280.26 / 4GB Windows 7

Author: GROME Terrain Modeling for Unity, UDK, Ogre3D from PackT

Tricubic Studios Ltd. ~ Combat Helo

or get the usb voltage and ground mixed up lol

if you do you watch the board glow then burn out

seen a few boards have that done lol

Asus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMMING

AMD Ryzen 7 1700x

32 gb ddr4

15 TB raid 5 HD

Nvidia EVGA 1060GTX

Win10 64bit

Get the MoBo's model and look up the correct layout online. Most manufacturers will have a PDF file at least. And like everyone else said, doesn't hurt your computer if you guess wrong.

simpleSigPNG.png

Artist, Animator, Musician, P/T Programmer

Dual Core @ 2.6GHz per /nVidia 9600 GT/ 4 GBs DDR3 6800 / XP Pro 32/64 Bit

Photoshop CS3 / 3D Studio Max 8 / VS '08