Mouse picking

Raul

Hello guys,

After a long pause, I started learning Leadwerks again. I am trying C# because is much easier for me (I know VB.NET).

I am trying to learn how to use mouse picking. Please can you provide me some sample? I want to know when I am clicking on a mesh (it's a sphere)

i5 2.7Ghz, GTS 450, 8GB Ram, Win7 x64; Win8 x64

rvlgames.com - my games

RVL Games Facebook Page, YouTube Channel

Blitzmax :)

Hi. First of all, for your information, the headers work with VB .NET as well, if you want to code in VB.

Here is a code example in C#, I don't know if I uploaded that version yet. Tell me if it doesn't work, means I didn't.

while (!Window.HasRequestedClose)
{
   if (new Pick(camera, Graphics.Width / 2, Graphics.Height / 2, 500).Entity.Class == "Mesh"))
   {
       // do things
   }
}

if (new Pick(camera, Graphics.Width / 2, Graphics.Height / 2, 500).Entity.Class == "Mesh"))

have you removed the non-working radius parameter in the C# version? as well as the collisiontype, since I am assuming that the 'Entity.Class=="Mesh"' is your pickfilter? seems to be missing some parameters...

Win7 64bit / Intel i7-2600 CPU @ 3.9 GHz / 16 GB DDR3 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590

LE / 3DWS / BMX / Hexagon

macklebee's channel

Me again:

So I use Raycasting.CameraPick to test the collision between my cursor and my planet (a sphere)

I record the data in

Pick pick

Now I am interested to know what mesh did I exactly hit with my mouse. Because every sphere represent a 'planet' in my game. One way is to compare the position of the pointed mesh with my all meshes but I was thinking at something more exactly, because there will be more meshes with same position later in my game. ;)

rvlgames.com - my games

Yes, I receive almost all the data in the 'pick.entity' (position, roatation, etc.) but I need to know what mesh did I pressed... something like an ID

I need this info because I have 2 arrays: planet[ ] and meshPlanet[ ]