Cut-tool

Jeep112

I'd really REALLY like to see a cut-tool in Leadwerks, such as there is in Hammer.

It'd be so much easier to be able to work with, and developing would definitely become a lot more fun. It's so much easier to simply make quick windows like that, instead of using a third party modeling software to something as basic as just a few blocks. But with the cut-tool, you could also make rectangles, houses, circles, everything - just like in Hammer.

Please consider this, as I've seen threads from 2009 on the old forum, asking for a cut-tool.

• Upvote 3

Not just windows. This is one of the best features of the Source Engine which I've been making maps for, for about 4 years.

It should be quite easy to program, and it would make the engine so much easier to make pretty details simply with brushes. I don't understand why Leadwerks isn't that art-friendly at all, such ad CryEngine, Source and Unity is.

• Upvote 2

• 2 months later...

I agree. It would be very very usefull to get more advanced shaping done in the editor, without having to create these 'simple' shapes in an external 3D modeling program. It would also increase the speed to create the basic shape of your environments.

As an example...if i want to create a wall with a door opening in it, i have to create three cubes for this one wall, and then also tweak the texture scale on each face so that there's no seam (to make it appear as one whole mesh and not three seperate boxes).

So, yeah...a big +1 for such a commonly used game engine feature. smile.png

• Upvote 2

ZBrush 4R7 64-bit - 3DCoat 4.5 BETA 12 - Fl Studio 12 64Bit - LE 3.2 Indie version - Truespace 7 - Blender 2.71 - iClone 5.51 Pro - iClone 3DXChange 5.51 pipeline - Kontakt 5 - Bryce 7 - UU3D Pro - Substance Designer/Painter - Shadermap 3 - PaintShop Photo Pro X7 - Hexagon - Audacity - Gimp 2.8 - Vue 2015 - Reaktor 5 - Guitar Rig 5 - Bitmap2Material 3