Lua script editor (Scintilla)

AggrorJorn

First off I have been using Leadwerks for many years, using both Lua and C++. Many video tutorials were made using the integrated script editor. Till this day I find the scripting editor one of the biggest weaknesses of Leadwerks. As a matter of fact I prefer using Notepad++ or Visual studio code. Both are free, crossplatform and come with great working lua extensions that make life a little easier. Biggest downside to those editors: the absence of any debugging options.

The integrated editor (custom build of scintilla/Scite I assume, correct me if I am wrong.) has some annoying downsides that make usage cringeworthy:

• Auto line indention of lines seem to fail most of the time. Pretty much every new line starts at the beggining of the line rather then adding tabs or indention. The amount of time lost on correctly positioning the cursor is insane and the biggest frustration on my end.
  • Absence of Ctrl + arrow to jump between words: jumping between words using the control + arrow keys does not work. This even works in non code editor programs like word or even when typing in a url in the browser.
  • Absence of copy line functionality: Granted, the shortcut key is different for every IDE, but the prinicipal is the same: when the shortcut is pressed, the current line the cursor is on, is copied to the line below. (Visual studio has ctrl + c, Notepad has control + d)
  • Another point that is not working properly is the removal or saving of break points. Sometimes the debugger stops at break points that are no longer there.